Tauranga Property Investors' Association

022 626 7302


News & Updates

Recent updates


Nelson landlord wins national award

Presentation of the 2014 Landlord of the Year Award was the highlight of the NZ Property Investors Federation (NZPIF) Annual Conference on Saturday in Christchurch. This year the Award was won by Lyn Marshall of Nelson.  Runners up were Neil and Margaret Brimblecombe of Hamilton.

 Jointly sponsored by NZPIF and Ministry of Business Innovation and Employment (MBIE), this Award celebrates the high standards which members of Associations affiliated to the NZPIF demonstrate during their role as landlords every day. Troy Churton, national industry liaison for MBIE and convenor of the judging panel said it was a close contest.

“The judging panel found that Lyn Marshall had an outstanding care and community orientation to her business,” said Mr Churton. “She had excellent references from some of her tenants who all valued her attention to their needs and the condition of the properties.”

In 2013, Lyn and husband Bryan developed Accorn Way, a private street of 14 purpose built houses aimed at retired tenants. "I wanted to change our phylosophy from from the traditional model of renting property. We view rental houses as homes. We rent to responsible people who want a home to live in long term and to be part of the community." 

"included in the rent is lawn mowing, gardening, window cleaning and we maintain smoke alarms, light bulbs and appliances. We provide a high level of service and commitment to keeping our homes in prime condition. We focus on preventative maintenance rather than merely repairs."

Lyn is a member of the Nelson Property Investors Association and the runners up are members of Waikato Property Investors Association.  There are 20 Associations around New Zealand and all have monthly meetings which feature speakers on a variety of relevant topics including quality landlord practices and effective property investment strategies.

Tags: media release

Sponsors & Partners